modified traps?

Coyote, Fox, Beaver, Racoon, etc.

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

leadbiscuit
coyotehunter

modified traps?

Post by leadbiscuit »

I've been looking through some of the posts in this area and I've noticed you fellas talk quite a bit about modifying different traps. I'm not really interested in starting to trap but I've been a welder/steelworker for 15 or 16 years now and I'm curious about the changes you make to your gear. I would like to learn more about it. If any of you could post a few pics of what you're doing along with a desciption, I would be grateful for it.

leadbiscuit
barebackjack
coyotehunter

Re: modified traps?

Post by barebackjack »

Better yet, you come over and ill employ your welding skills and you can get hands on modifying experience! :wink:

I can weld, but its not pretty and nearby kids get to learn new words.
lyonch
coyotehunter

Post by lyonch »

Let me see what i can come up with LeadB.
Chris Lyon

My mind belongs to my work,
My heart belongs to my family,
BUT MY SOUL BELONGS TO THE COYOTES!!!
Prairie Ghost
Site Admin

Post by Prairie Ghost »

Lamination: Welding a piece of number nine wire, flat stock of various sizes ect on at least one side of the jaw face (top, bottom or both) so that you have a bigger piece of steel in contact with the leg to displace the power and reduce damage.

Offset: welding a small piece on or square stock on both the face of the jaws to keep them from closing 100% to touching (1/4" is common) to again make them more of a handcuff and reduce damage and make the animal more comfortable.