New Traps

Coyote, Fox, Beaver, Racoon, etc.

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

lyonch
coyotehunter

New Traps

Post by lyonch »

For those of you who are getting into trapping as i am i have a tip for you. When i received my new traps the first thing i did was put them in the dishwasher. I ran the cycle on high heat and loaded it up with detergent. When the cycle was done my conibears already had a light coat of rust on them. The footholds had a little spotty rust on them. The metal was really dried out. With the metal being so dry i feel that the dieing process should really take to the trap. It was quick, easy, and no mess. I put the swivels and and j-hooks in the silverware holder and washed them also. When i was done i ran a empty cycle and it looked like i never even washed traps in it. When i modify them tonight i will post pics of how much they rusted. Any other tips that someone has feel free to let me know cause i am a rookie at this trapping :wink:
Chris Lyon

My mind belongs to my work,
My heart belongs to my family,
BUT MY SOUL BELONGS TO THE COYOTES!!!
Prairie Ghost
Site Admin

Re: New Traps

Post by Prairie Ghost »

I'm assuming the misses was gone ;)
Money is a great servant but a terrible master!!
LeviM
coyotehunter

Post by LeviM »

LOL

I made the mistake of washing my traps in the diswasher infront of the wife! I got the longest stare down of my life. It did work good, and the dishwasher looked good at the end
Levi McNally
"Coyote Fever"
'Whack em' and Stack em' ND Style"
"Speak the Language"
lyonch
coyotehunter

Post by lyonch »

she was around and doesn't care if i make a mess as long as i clean it up. On the other hand i did get my a$$ chewed when she got home and i had all my trapping supplies layed out and it smelled like a skunk :D ( I told her it was the smell of success and i dont think she understood) Then it took me a while before it clicked when jamie told me the smell was in the cardboard boxes :oops:
Chris Lyon

LeviM