Calling Fox

This is an area for fox: Red, Swift, Kit, Grey...what ever you get a hold of. Calling, Spot and Stalk, Pics. Share your experiences Fox hunting tips, techniques, and thoughts about Fox hunting here.

Moderator: Coyotehunter

Coyotehunter
Site Admin

Calling Fox

Post by Coyotehunter »

Share your experiences, tips, techniques, and thoughts about Fox Calling.
Coyotes Forever
Dcoy
Top Dog

Re: Calling Fox

Post by Dcoy »

Get close.Mouse squeak.Never saw it scare one but most often brings them in.For our group,rabbit distress was just so-so except at night.Worked then.I'd set up to make sure a fox can approach using cover.They don't have the 'balls'a coyote does.(or are more cautious is probably a better way to put it)
On the other hand,we were(are)primarily 'walkers' and 'spot/stalkers' on fox so can't speak on 'calling'based on a lot of experience.
carolina_outlaw
coyotehunter

Post by carolina_outlaw »

I'm new to the predator calling and living here in Eastern NC we have a hellava lot more grey foxes, than coyotes, not to many reds though. I'm still learning to call, but all of the greys that i have shot have been on walking missions and looking for sign or in traps on my trap line in the past. Coyotes are have been showing up around here in the past couple of years, i heard two different packs out howling and barking a couple of weeks ago at night when i was out in the yard. Hopefully in the near future i can provide some what worked for me info on fox calling in the near future. I am curious in the effect coyotes have had on grey fox populations in around the areas you guys hunt.
Primos Hunting Calls
Speak the Language
LeviM
coyotehunter

Post by LeviM »

I like to lip squek if i have them spotted ahead of time, and if I am calling to an area, soft high bitch bird sounds on my open reed call.
Levi McNally
"Coyote Fever"
'Whack em' and Stack em' ND Style"
"Speak the Language"
Coyotehunter
Site Admin

Post by Coyotehunter »