Caliber to Minimize Pelt Damage?

This is an area for fox: Red, Swift, Kit, Grey...what ever you get a hold of. Calling, Spot and Stalk, Pics. Share your experiences Fox hunting tips, techniques, and thoughts about Fox hunting here.

Moderator: Coyotehunter

iowayote

Caliber to Minimize Pelt Damage?

Post by iowayote »

Just wondering what you guys would recomend for shooting fox. I have a 22-250 a .222 rem and a .204 and it seems that all three are a little tough on the pelt. The shotgun works good but it is tough sometimes to get them in close enough for a shotgun shot.
bucksnbears
coyotehunter

Re: Caliber to Minimize Pelt Damage?

Post by bucksnbears »

i just started shooting the barnes tsx 45 grain in my 250 and am super impresses with the way it performs on fur. hav'nt shot a whole lot of fox with it but so far its been awesome. full penatration, great shock, small entry and exit. as for the .222 i've shot probably over 200 fox withb it and i've found the 50grain sierra blitzkings to be the best overall. hope this helps :D
the more food you have in your mouth at one time, the better you can taste it!!!
"Remember, the government cannot give anything to anyone that they have not first taken away from someone else."
Coyotehunter
Site Admin

Post by Coyotehunter »

the Rem. .17 was built for fox. shoot a 25 gr. bthp and just slow it down some. 3800-3900 fps would be a good place to start. bullet/load developement still apply but try to avoid the temptation to get 4300 fps out of the gun.
Coyotes Forever
Tim Anderson
coyotehunter

Post by Tim Anderson »

I always used a 17 Mach-4 with 25 gr. Hornadys, 17 Rem. with 25 gr. Hornadys and the 221 F.B. with 42 Gr. Calhoons.. Like Coyotehunter said keep the Vel. down around 3800 fps for the 17 cal.s and 3000 fps for the F.B.
yotter

Post by yotter »

iowayote