New to the board with a question!

Share your coyote hunting tips, techniques, and thoughts about coyote hunting.

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

east coast hunter
coyotehunter

New to the board with a question!

Post by east coast hunter »

I am very interested in learning how to call in some yotes. I am from North Carolina and we are getting over run with them critters. I know out west where a lot of you guys are from yall have wide open land to set up on and glass over. Here its a little different. Mostly all we have is THICK THICK woods due to hurricanes and trees that have been blown over. With the exception of farm land, truck paths through the woods is about our only openings. Do any of you guys hunt places like this and how would you go about getting them dogs out in the paths or small fields???? Thanks in advance.
LeviM
coyotehunter

Re: New to the board with a question!

Post by LeviM »

I have no real experience in calling in thick wooded areas, but I would try to call them into any openings you have. Either shotgun, or rifle.

Have you thought about trapping?
Levi McNally
"Coyote Fever"
'Whack em' and Stack em' ND Style"
"Speak the Language"
barebackjack
coyotehunter

Post by barebackjack »

I HATE calling continuous big woods areas. Tough to get a coyote out of it (at least before he winds ya). An electronic call with a remote, or calling partner comes in VERY handy. One guy (or the remote caller) makes noise upwind, the shooter sits downwind.

The shotgun is your friend in the big woods.
lyonch
coyotehunter

Post by lyonch »