HELP!!!!!! Need tips and suggestions

Share your coyote hunting tips, techniques, and thoughts about coyote hunting.

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

kansas_buick

HELP!!!!!! Need tips and suggestions

Post by kansas_buick »

I am new to the coyote calling game. We hunted for years with dogs, but recent laws prohibit us from enjoying our traditional hunting. Anyhow, I have begun calling but with little success. I am seeking tips and suggestions on coyote calling. Here are a few specifics with the way I am hunting these little boogers:

Hand picked sets. I have been out about 15 times without calling anything in. Good locations with lots of coyotes and lots of opportunity. (I know they are there because I have spotted them throughout the year and have killed several during other hunting adventures.) Right now, there is about 3 feet of snow on the ground. It has been there about 2 weeks. I always hunt with the wind in my face and pick my sets depending on the wind being in my face or the wind blowing away from the expected area of coyote approach. I have hunted crosswind to test it, but with no success. I have tried hunting the open as well as hunting heavy cover. I use an electronic Phantom call with variable sounds and loudness. Generally go with a lighter rabbit squeal in the beginning and then bump the call up in volume to a reasonable level to get the sound out. I use the rabbit squeal for about 20-30 seconds and then wait about 5-6 minutes for a response. Then, I call again for about 20-30 seconds and wait again. I am usually on a set for about 40-45 minutes and then slip out the same way I went in. I go in quietly in full camo, including full face mask. Scent blocker products are used.