Sound Supressors

Open Discussion Forum

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

Garydo38

Sound Supressors

Post by Garydo38 »

I am just wondering if Sound Supressors are legal in Texas. I just bought an AR-15 and the guy I bought it from said he just got a supressor for his. I asked him if it was legal and he said it was. But other people have told me other wise. I would think he knows what he's saying if he's selling at a gun show. Right?
Coyotehunter
Site Admin

Re: Sound Supressors

Post by Coyotehunter »

Well, I am no expert on this subject but I do think there is a difference in a Suppresor and a Silencer.
Coyotes Forever
xdeano
coyotehunter

Post by xdeano »

A sound suppressor/silencer/moderator/cans, they're all the same thing.

You can find this info on the ATF website.

States that allow private ownership: AL, AR, AK, AZ, CO, CT, FL, GA, ID, IN, KY, LA, ME, MD,MS, MT, ND, NE, NV, NH, NM, NC, OH, OK, OR, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA,WV, WI, and WY.

States that do NOT allow ownership: the other 14 not listed.

I hope that helps.

deano
“It’s better to live one day as a lion, than a thousand years as a lamb.” -Mussolini
Coyotehunter
Site Admin

Post by Coyotehunter »

I did not know that. How do you go about getting licensed for using one?
Coyotes Forever
lyonch
coyotehunter

Post by lyonch »

wouldn't that be awesome to call in a triple and non take off running cause they dont really hear the shot liek they normally due. Jamie if you get your hands on one i bet wyoming will never be that same :wink:
Chris Lyon

My mind belongs to my work,
My heart belongs to my family,
BUT MY SOUL BELONGS TO THE COYOTES!!!
LeviM
coyotehunter

Post by LeviM »

Thats all we need is Jamie running around with a silencer! Nothing good about that :?
Levi McNally
"Coyote Fever"
'Whack em' and Stack em' ND Style"
"Speak the Language"
xdeano
coyotehunter

Post by xdeano »