Few questions on a couple calibers.

Share your coyote hunting tips, techniques, and thoughts about coyote hunting.

Moderators: Coyotehunter, Prairie Ghost

Brod_Man

Few questions on a couple calibers.

Post by Brod_Man »

First off im new here, so ill start by introducing myself.
My name is Brody Colegrove. I lIve in waverly ohio. Im 15 (turning 16 in june) Im a sophomore at Huntington High School, and i just love gods great outdoors.
Anyways back to the guns.
Im looking to get my first coyote rifle. Ive fretted for about a year now, commiting to one gun, then the next. So right now, im trying to leave an open spot there, for whatever gun. What im more interested in is ths. Im will be hunting at all different ranges. anywhere from 50yds.-400+ yards. I have narrowed down the caliber to two. .220 swift, and .22-250. Now heres what i want to know. What is an optimum barrel length for either caliber, and what are the optimum twist rates for either caliber. I want this gun to be as accurate as all get out. I dont want these coyotes to get a second chance.
I also would like to know which caliber would be easier to reload?
Thanks for any and all help in advance.
bucksnbears
coyotehunter

Re: Few questions on a couple calibers.

Post by bucksnbears »

Hi there youngster. if your just gonna target coyotes i'd say stick with a 22-250 or 243. if fox are on the menu perhaps a .223 would be better. as for the swift, great gun but you may have a hard time getting factory ammo. i,d stick with a 1-12 twist in .22cal. for a wider range of bullet weights.with a 22-250 i wuold'nt go under a 50 grain bullet with the 50-55 being a great all around choice. 22-250 is easy to reload although a bit more expensive than a .223. barrel leanght from 22 26 inches is fine. glad to see you love the outdoors. good luck and send more questions if need be. there's a bunch of knowlegable people here that are willing to help out.