Newbie...need help with locations in Colorado.

All you new guys who are just getting into coyote hunting, put your posts in this area. Lots of good information that would be helpful before putting up a post asking for the "how to" manual on calling.
graphicjunkie
coyotehunter

Newbie...need help with locations in Colorado.

Post by graphicjunkie »

Hey everyone. I've been scouring the web and this forum since 6AM, and really like what I've found here, so I've settled in! lol.

quick background so you understand where I'm coming from....
I am trying to get back into hunting for the sake of spending time with my son. I grew up in the NW region of Wyoming in Powell, just by Cody. Hunted all my life. Then when I graduated HS and left for the service, some might say that I left that all behind. Now, 20 years later, a father myself, recall all the hunting memories with my old man....so my son (10) has now gone through hunters safety, we've gone out and shot the hell out of prairie dogs for practice...now it's time to get serious. I've never hunted coyotes. So while I'm trying to REMEMBER how to hunt in general, I'm having to learn about this at the same time. OK...nuff of that.

I've got some manual calls, and we've absolutely driven the wife INSANE practicing. 8) One call is a wounded animal, can't recall the name but it's small and green. And the other is the heckling howler. (favorite)
We've BEEN hunting with our .22's. But after reading some articles here this morning, I'm investing in a good scope for my .223 (possibly NIKON BDC) and Saturday is a gun show and my son is going to get a new gun as well. Probably also a .223 as I'm going to start reloading and that will make things more convenient.